I’m a lifelong reader, but I never dreamed I’d be immersed in the book world the way I am now. I’ve grown so much as a reader over the past five years, and I’m a happier person because of it. I’ll always have a particular fondness for the Read Harder challenge, not only because of all the amazing books I’ve read because of it, but because of the bookish community it led me to. I haven’t actually completed Read Harder since 2019, and I honestly think that’s an indication that the challenge is working. It got me reading comics. I started reading more nonfiction, more small press books, more books from different genres and written by authors from different countries. I read more eclectically now than I ever have before. I seek out new and challenging books as a matter of course. I also read more fluffy and comforting books than I used to. Read Harder has given me so many kinds of permission. I might not finish every task each year, but the spirit of the challenge has taken hold, and become my guiding principle. In celebration of Read Harder’s eighth year, I’ve rounded up some of my favorite queer books that I might not have picked up otherwise. Looking back through my reading spreadsheets, I was amazed by just how many books I’ve read thanks to the challenge — it was hard to narrow it down! I’ve selected books that reflect what Read Harder has meant to me as a reader. These are books that have surprised me and stretched me. Some of them have become beloved favorites. Some of them of have challenged me. Many of them introduced me to new genres and authors I now love. All of them have enriched my reading life in immeasurable ways, and I am forever grateful.

Read Harder 2021

Read Harder 2020

Read Harder 2019

Read Harder 2015

Looking for more inspiration? You can browse through our Read Harder archives for lots of great recs for books from past challenges. And if it’s more reading challenges you’re after, check out these 52 weekly challenges to try, and this list of 50 DIY reading challenges for every kind of reader. Task: Read a genre book by an Indigenous, First Nations, or Native American author. Task: Read a historical fiction with a person of color or LGBTQ+ protagonist. Task: Read a book set in the Midwest. Task: Read a YA nonfiction book. Task: Read an audiobook of poetry. Task: Read a debut novel by a queer author. Task: Read a memoir by someone from a religious tradition (or lack of religious tradition) that is not your own. Task: Read a doorstopper (over 500 pages) published after 1950, written by a woman. Task: Read a historical romance by an author of color. Task: Read a book written in prison. Task: Read a book that is a retelling of a classic story (fairytale, Shakespearian play, classic novel, etc.) Task: Read a book by a person whose gender is different from your own.

Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 4Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 66Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 36Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 38Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 94Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 86Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 73Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 47Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 64Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 84Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 76Queer Harder  12 Favorites From Past Challenges - 16